Facebook Twitter

Home

Membership

Journal

Officers

Members Only

Of Interest

CURRENT HESS OFFICERS

President: Irina Podgorny (2019–2020) Facultad de Ciencias Naturales y Museo, Universidad Nacionale de la Plata, Archivo Histórico, Argentina; ipodgo@isis.unlp.edu.ar

President-Elect: Renée Clary (2019–2020), Professor, Department of Geosciences, Mississippi State University, P.O. Box 5448, Mississippi State, MS 39762; RClary@geosci.msstate.edu

Past President: Ernst Hamm, Associate Professor, Department of Science and Technology Studies, York University, 4700 Keele St., Toronto, Ontario M3J 1P3 Canada; ehamm@yorku.ca  

Secretary: Paul Brinkman (2017–2019), Head, History of Science Research Lab and Curator of Special Collections, North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, Raleigh, NC, USA;  secretary@historyearthscience.org;     paul.brinkman@naturalsciences.org

Treasurer: David Spanagel (2019–2021), P.O. Box 70, Lancaster, MA 01523-0070, USA; davidspanagel@comcast.net;   treasurer@historyearthscience.org

Program Officer: Jody Bourgeois (2019–2020), Professor emeritus, Earth and Space Sciences, College of the Environment, University of Washington, USA; programofficer@historyearthscience.org

Membership Coordinator and Website Manager: Kathy Lohff; membership@historyearthscience.org

Councilors: 

Norman Henniges (2019–2020) Research Affiliate, Gotha Research Centre of the University of Erfurt, Germany; normanhenniges@uni-erfurt.de

Francesco Luzzini (2018–2019) Research Affiliate, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin, Germany; fluzzini@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de; and Research Fellow, MuSe – Museum of Sciences, Trento, Italy; francesco_luzzini@muse.it

Gary D. Rosenberg (2018–2019) Adjunct Curator of Geology, Milwaukee Public Museum, and Emeritus Associate Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, IUPUI, USA; grosenbe@iupui.edu

Margaret Lopes (2019–2020) Senior Invited Professor, PPGCiência da Informação – PPGCInf (Information Science), Faculdade de Ciência da Informação – FCI, Universidade de Brasília – UnB, Brasilia, DF, Brasil; mariamargaretlopes@gmail.com

Editor, Earth Sciences History: John A. Diemer (2017–2019), Professor of Earth Sciences, Department of Geography and Earth Sciences, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, 9201 University City Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28223, USA; jadiemer@uncc.eduesh@historyearthscience.org

Nominating Committee:

Johannes Mattes (2017–2019); Lecturer of History, University of Vienna, Universitätsring 1, 1010 Wien, Austria; johannes.mattes@univie.ac.at  

Greg Good (2018–2020); Center for the History of Physics, American Institute of Physics, One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740; ggood@aip.org